Skip to main content

Published on Tuesday 23 May 2023

A new administration, the Three Towns Alliance, will lead Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole Council for the next term following tonight’s Annual Council meeting.

The new administration has been formed from the Liberal Democrats (28 councillors), Christchurch Independents (8 councillors), Poole People Party (5 councillors) and The Bournemouth Independent Group (3 councillors).

It will be led by Cllr Vikki Slade in her second term in the BCP Council role. She was the first leader of BCP Council from May 2019 to October 2020.

Council Leader Vikki Slade said: "I am delighted and honoured to have been chosen to lead this council again.

"We live in a beautiful place with huge potential, but there is so much that needs to be done so that people and communities realise that potential.

"The council needs to get the basics right and earn the trust and confidence of all our residents across Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole before we can go on to deliver those more exciting projects that we all want to see."

She added: "We must work to rebuild the reputation of the council. This administration will be based on the solid foundations of openness, transparency, accountability, honesty and integrity. The council will be welcoming to everyone, with decisions that are explained, questions answered, a place where challenge and scrutiny is embraced and encouraged.

"We cannot shy away from the fact that the council is experiencing huge financial constraints and there will be some difficult decisions ahead. We are looking at ways that we can support residents with the cost-of-living crisis but this affects the council as well so we must take a pragmatic approach to our choices so that we can build stable foundations from where we can focus on future ambitions.

"This means we’ll be prioritising the things that matter to you. Treating the most vulnerable in our society as we would our own family members – offering compassion, care and support.

"Making our town and local centres inviting so that everyone feels welcome, safe and wants to spend time there. And putting sustainability at the heart of what we do so that we can improve your lives now, and in the future.

"Most of all we want you to have confidence in us to work with and for you, knowing that we’re on your side. We know that won’t happen overnight and we need to earn your trust.

"That work starts now."

During tonight’s Council meeting, Council Leader Slade announced that her Cabinet would include:

  • Cllr Millie Earl, Deputy Leader and Connected Communities
  • Cllr David Brown, Health and Wellbeing
  • Cllr Richard Burton, Children and Young People
  • Cllr Mike Cox, Finance
  • Cllr Andy Hadley, Climate Response, Environment and Energy
  • Cllr Jeff Hanna, Transformation and Resource
  • Cllr Andy Martin, Customer, Communications and Culture
  • Cllr Kieron Wilson, Housing, Planning and Regulation

The Chair and Vice Chair of the council were also elected during the meeting, with Cllr Lesley Dedman elected Chair and Cllr Simon Bull elected Vice Chair.

More details about the new Cabinet can be seen here:

Please enable YouTube and Other Video Cookies to view this video.

Have you encountered a problem with this page?