coast

Senior management team

Our senior management team are the senior managers responsible for the day-to-day running of Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole (BCP) Council.

Graham Farrant

Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole Council Chief Executive

You can contact Graham Farrant by email at graham.farrant@bcpcouncil.gov.uk.

Graham was previously the Chief Executive of HM Land Registry and Chief Land Registrar. Prior to that role, Graham was Chief Executive of Thurrock Council and London Borough of Barking and Dagenham. He transformed Thurrock into a council with a strong regeneration strategy providing excellent services to residents. Graham also has extensive private sector experience.

Kate Ryan

Chief Operations Officer

You can contact Kate Ryan by email at kate.ryan@bcpcouncil.gov.uk.

Responsible for:

  • communities
  • destination and culture
  • environment
  • housing
  • transport and engineering
  • planning.

Prior to BCP Council, Kate was the Strategic Director for Place at Borough of Poole, driving the town’s regeneration and growth agenda as well as operational and neighbourhoood services. Kate’s professional background is in public policy and housing and prior to her experience in local government in Dorset she held senior roles within a public affairs consultancy and a national charity.

David Vitty

Director of Adult Social Care

You can contact David Vitty by email at david.vitty@bcpcouncil.gov.uk.

Responsible for:

  • adult social care services.

Phil Hornsby

Director of Commissioning for People

You can contact Phil Hornsby by email at phil.hornsby@bcpcouncil.gov.uk.

Responsible for:

  • commissioning for adult social care and children’s services
  • continuous improvement, quality assurance, performance and workforce development for adult social care
  • development of a wider commissioning model for people.

Phil has over 24 years leadership experience in commissioning and is responsible for shaping the future service alongside the management of the current commissioning model.

Elaine Redding

Corporate Director - Children's Services (interim)

You can contact Elaine Redding by email at elaine.redding@bcpcouncil.gov.uk.

Responsible for:

  • education
  • children's social care 
  • commissioning (children's services)
  • early help 
  • permanency, fostering and adoption
  • performance (children's services).

Julian Osgathorpe

Corporate Director - Resources

You can contact Julian Osgathorpe by email at julian.osgathorpe@bcpcouncil.gov.uk.

Responsible for:

  • customer and business delivery
  • ICT and information systems
  • organisational development
  • major change and project management.

Julian has spent more than 20 years working in both private and public sectors. In August 2016, he was appointed to the Executive Director of Corporate Services for both Bournemouth Borough Council and Borough of Poole and was subsequently seconded to the role of BCP Programme Director. His previous roles include the Director of Business Transformation at the London Borough of Lambeth and Deputy Chief Executive of Eastbourne Borough Council. 

Susan Zeiss

Monitoring Officer / Director of Law and Governance 

You can contact Susan Zeiss by email at susan.zeiss@bcpcouncil.gov.uk.

Responsible for law and governance.

Susan was most recently General Counsel at Northamptonshire County Council, where she was part of a team building financial stability and restoring good governance. Susan was previously Deputy Director Legal for the Environment Agency and Senior Solicitor at Dorset County Council. Having spent the first half of her working life in the private sector as an attorney advising in property, planning, contract and procurement, she has brought this experience to projects in Local Government like the Weymouth Relief Road, Hinkley Point Nuclear Power Station, Defra transformation and the Steart Marshes Working Wetland.

Adam Richens

Statutory 151 Officer / Director of Finance

You can contact Adam Richens by email at adam.richens@bcpcouncil.gov.uk.

Responsible for finance.

Adam is a qualified accountant with over 30 years experience in local government finance. He started working for Dorset County Council straight from school in 1986 as part of their Youth Training Scheme. Adam progressed through various finance roles at Dorset and then Poole before taking on the role of Poole's Chief Financial Officer in March 2012. From February 2016, Adam was the joint Head of Financial Services for both Bournemouth and Poole. As Section 151 Officer, Adam is responsible for ensuring the proper administration of BCP Council’s finances.