Skip to content
Coast Banner

School closures

There is planned national strike action by members of the National Education Union (NEU) today (Wednesday 1 February 2023). This will impact schools in the BCP Council area.

All parents have been informed of the below arrangements. You should contact your school if you have any doubts.

Most schools have letters to parents published on their websites. It is possible that some schools may find fewer staff on site when schools open due to illness or late notification of strike action.

Please expect some amendments to the below lists today as information arrives.

Schools that are expected to be open as usual today

  • Avonwood Primary
  • Baden-Powell and St Peter's Junior School
  • Bearwood Primary
  • Broadstone First
  • Bournemouth Collegiate School
  • Burton Primary
  • Christchurch Infants
  • Connie Rothman Learning Trust
  • Courthill Infants
  • Hamworthy Park
  • Heathlands Primary Academy
  • Jewell Academy
  • Kinson Academy
  • Lilliput Church of England Infant School
  • Livingstone Road Infants
  • The Lion Works School
  • Merley First
  • Moordown St John’s Primary
  • Mudeford Infants
  • Ocean Academy Primary
  • Ocean Academy Juniors
  • Old Town Infants and Nursery
  • Pokesdown Community Primary
  • Queen’s Park Infant Academy
  • Queen's Park Academy
  • Somerford Primary
  • Springdale First
  • St Joseph’s Christchurch Primary
  • St Katharine’s Primary
  • St Michael’s Primary
  • St Walburga’s Primary
  • Stanley Green Infant Academy
  • Stourfield Infants
  • Talbot House Preparatory School
  • Twin Sails Infants
  • Winchelsea Special.

Schools that are closed

Some of the below schools have made exceptions for very small groups, or exceptions for agreed vulnerable groups.

  • Bishop St Aldhelm’s Primary
  • Corpus Christi Primary
  • The Grange Secondary
  • Highcliffe Secondary
  • Kingsleigh Primary
  • King’s Park Academy
  • Mudeford Juniors
  • The Priory Primary
  • The Quay School
  • St Joseph’s Poole Primary
  • Twynham Secondary
  • St. Marks Primary
  • Winton Primary.

Schools that are partially open

In the below schools, at least one class or year group has been asked to work from home.

  • Ad Astra Infants Poole
  • Avonbourne Girls and Boys Academy
  • Bayside Academy
  • The Bishop of Winchester Academy
  • The Bourne Academy
  • Bournemouth School
  • Bournemouth School for Girls
  • Broadstone Middle - will close early
  • Canford Heath Infants and Juniors
  • Christ the King Primary
  • Christchurch Juniors
  • Christchurch Learning Centre Secondary
  • Corfe Hills Secondary
  • Cornerstone Secondary
  • Elm Academy Primary
  • The Epiphany School Primary
  • Glenmoor Academy
  • Haymoor Juniors
  • Highcliffe St Mark’s Primary
  • Hillview Primary
  • Hillbourne Primary
  • Heatherlands Primary
  • Leaf Studio
  • Linwood Special School - some classes closed, parents informed
  • Livingstone Junior
  • Longfleet Primary
  • Longspee Academy - some changes on all settings, contact the school for more information
  • Magna Academy
  • Malmesbury Park Primary
  • Manorside Primary Academy
  • Montacute Special
  • Muscliff Primary School
  • The Nigel Bowes Academy
  • Oak Academy Secondary
  • Oakdale Juniors
  • Parkfield
  • Parkstone Grammar
  • Poole Grammar
  • Poole High School
  • Queen's Park Academy
  • St Aldhelm’s Academy
  • St Edward’s Secondary
  • St Luke’s Primary
  • St Mark’s Primary
  • St Peter’s Primary Phase
  • St Peter’s Secondary Phase
  • Stourfield Juniors
  • Talbot Primary
  • Tregonwell Academies
  • Twynham Primary Academy
  • Winchelsea School
  • Winton Academy.

Talbot House, Bournemouth Collegiate and Connie Rothman are open.